Cabell-Huntington Health Department stay at Home Advisory – READ UPDATE


Mountwest Community & Technical College was established as Marshall Community College, a college within Marshall University that provided two-year associate degrees and continuing and community education. Classes first began in the fall of 1975 with a wide range of programs.

In 1991, the College’s name became Marshall Community & Technical College to better reflect the technical nature of the many programs offered. Marshall Community & Technical College became accredited for the first time as an independent institution in 2003.

By 2008, many changes, including national education and workforce trends, began to redefine community and technical college education in West Virginia. These changes led to the statewide separation of two-year colleges from their four-year parent institutions.

Marshall Community & Technical College became a separate institution on July 1, 2008, as a result of West Virginia House Bill 3215. This bill made the College a free-standing, independent institution no longer administratively linked to Marshall University and established a separate Board of Governors to determine, control, supervise and manage the financial, business, educational policies and affairs of the College.

The College adopted the designation “MCTC” until it was officially named Mountwest Community & Technical College by West Virginia Senate Bill 499 in 2010. Mountwest continued to offer classes on the university campus through spring 2012. In August 2012, Mountwest opened the doors to its own 28-acre campus atop Fifth Street Hill in Huntington.

Today, Mountwest is one of only nine public institutions that form the West Virginia Community & Technical College System, and it continues to meet the educational needs of Tri-State students and employers through hands-on, high-quality learning, as it has for nearly four decades.

This site collects Cookie Data